Mediterranean style scrambled eggs

You say brunch, I say scrambled eggs! Nothing beats scrambled eggs on toast when you’re looking for convenience, nutrition and comfort.

Before I went lactose-free, I used to love the traditional British silky smooth scrambled eggs made with butter, or even sometimes crème fraîche or cream. So when I ditched the dairy, I had this conundrum – how could I make great scrambled eggs without using dairy? The obvious choice would be to use dairy substitutes such as vegetable butter, or soy cream, but I am not a fan of using substitutes as they very rarely taste like the real deal, and I much prefer finding new and improved methods of making my favourite dishes.

However, my problem was solved when I spent a summer in Spain. My grandmother offered me a plate of scrambled eggs. I apologised and said I couldn’t eat them because they would have dairy in them. She looked at me with surprise and told me that in Spain, they very rarely ever used dairy products in their scrambled eggs. Looking at the plate skeptically, I took a bite, and was surprised to find that the eggs tasted creamier and smoother than I was used to despite the absence of dairy products! I begged her to tell me how she made them, and I was shocked to discover that the only real differences were that the eggs were cooked in olive oil and that they were cooked over a low heat for less time, resulting in a silky texture. So now I’m going to show you how you too can make the ultimate batch of scrambled eggs.

13721233_565500053631892_240963250_n

Ingredients

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1tbsp of olive oil
  • Salt & pepper for seasoning
  • 1 slice of wholemeal seeded bread (Optional)

Method

  1. Whilst you wait for your frying pan to warm up to a low heat, whisk both the eggs together in a bowl. Then, if desired, toast your slice of bread.
  2. Add the olive oil to the pan and once it’s gained some heat, add the whisked eggs.
  3. With a spatula or wooden spoon, make circular motions throughout the pan, so that the eggs don’t stick to the bottom and overcook. Keep doing this without stopping so that you can get the smooth finish.
  4. Once the eggs no longer appear to be a liquid and you can see that some parts of the egg are beginning to solidify, take the eggs off the heat.
  5. Make sure not to keep the eggs inside the pan for too long as even if the pan is no longer over the heat the eggs will continue to cook because the pan will still be warm. Quickly scrape the scrambled eggs onto a plate or onto your piece of toast, then season with salt and pepper.

One thought on “Mediterranean style scrambled eggs

Leave a comment